Home On The Hill

Home On The Hill (2002)
Susie Glaze with The Eight Hand String Band

Buy on CDBaby.com
Buy on Amazon.com
Buy on iTunes

Order direct from the artist by sending an email to Hilonesome Music at hilonesome@aol.com
or By Mail
Send a check for $16.50 (includes shipping) to:
Hilonesome Music
848 North Pass Avenue
Burbank, CA 91505

Susie’s debut solo album, “Home on the Hill” features classic Jean Ritchie originals and mountain tunes, songs from Lucinda Williams, Michael Fleming’s cowboy ballad “My Only Love” (with Mariachi Voz de America), old-time favorites, the very fine title track from Dan Jenkins, Gillian Welch’s “Wichita,” and Kate Long’s beautiful ballad “Who Will Watch The Home Place.”  And don’t miss Kenny Kosek on the greatest song of Old Christmas, “Brightest and Best.”  The Eight Hand String Band is Steve Rankin (mandolin), Fred Sanders (bass), Alex Wright (guitar/banjo), and Charlie Otte (fiddle).  Featuring guest players Kenny Kosek, Juke Logan, Bob Applebaum, Dan Sankey, Mike Witcher and Rick Cunha.

1. Intro: Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies 0:52
2. One More Mile 3:23
3. Paper Wings 2:48
4. Lightning Express 4:22
5. My Only Love 4:54
6. Prove My Love 2:46
7. Home On The Hill 3:54
8. Wichita 2:09
9. Making Plans 2:55
10. Who Will Watch The Home Place 4:54
11. Go Dig My Grave 4:08
12. Healing Waters 3:21
13. Brightest And Best 4:41
Home on the Hill (Reviews)
January 14, 2009Home On The Hill“Susie Glaze is an enticing folk singer from California’s gold coast, possessing a sultry soprano vocal style that contains a distinct Jean Ritchie influence. “Home On The Hill” is her debut recording and includes material extracted from a variety of sources ranging from bluegrass (“Making Plans,” “Wichita,” and “Who Will Watch The Home Place”) to public domain pieces like “Lightning Express” and “Go Dig My Grave” (i.e. “Butcher Boy”). Also included are several pieces from friend and mentor Jean Ritchie. Of the 13 selections, some of the more noticeable standouts include the Celtic-flavored “Brightest And Best,” “One More Mile,” and Lucinda Williams’ “Prove My Love.” For a first time effort, “Home On The Hill” definitely scores a musical home run and is one of the more significant folk efforts of recent memory.” [...]
January 14, 2009Home On The Hill"With a recommendation from none other than Jean Ritchie, Susie Glaze will be assured of attentive listeners. A full acoustic band joins Glaze for lovely versions of "One More Mile" and Gillian Welch and David Rawlings' "Paper Wings." With tasteful arrangements and carefully selected material, "Home on the Hill" is a fine introduction to a new voice." — RL [...]
January 14, 2009Home On The HillClick here to read the Folkworks feature article by Dennis Roger Reed [...]
January 14, 2009Home On The Hill"Susie Glaze is a fresh young voice, strong and flexible…And, she's a communicator, to me the most important of qualities in a singer…how wonderful to hear this new voice taking up my songs… quite suddenly I know that, with people like this to trust, my music will go on living, and soaring. And so will I."   — Jean Ritchie "Don't let the gentle spoken voice of Susie Glaze at the beginning of this CD fool you. After "One More Mile" and "Wichita", you might want to make sure your barn's not burning. Susie does that. She will glide from a plaintive moan to a cozy vibrato and every choice she makes seems perfect. Every song is a journey and her versatility as a vocal stylist is impressive and downright unbelievable at times. The musicians embrace her and dance with her. Their excellent playing and harmonies embellish and propel her but never overwhelm her. Susie's choice to interpret Lucinda Williams, Gillian Welch and Jean Ritchie is bold, but, by God, Susie stakes a claim and makes those songs her own. My favorite cut is "Paper Wings". That song should be on the radio. I just hit the repeat button."   "From your mouth through my ears to my soul I absolutely love your new CD. The song selection is a seamless musical blend of the past and the present handled with eloquence and grace. Your voice is phenomenal and the instrumentation is tight, skillful, and beautifully arranged and performed. Your music is truly a healing experience for those who will hear. May they be many. Thank you for creating such a beautiful album." "Susie Glaze's CD debut is a stunner. She's been quietly making a name for herself in southern California, and with this CD, a much wider audience can discover her breath-taking talents. Backed by the Eight-Hand String Band, she possesses one of the most distinctive and hauntingly evocative voices out there today. She emotionally hooks you from the first moments of the first song, and doesn't let go. This collection mixes originals and classics, but she makes every one of them her own. The production is superb, ranging from mariachi to stark simplicity. Besides an extraordinary voice, what sets Susie Glaze apart is that she sings straight from the heart, with passion, sadness, and yearning. Unlike the slick, market-tested, pre-chewed, musical pablum that predominates these days, this CD will haunt you long after it's over." "I especially liked the Jean Ritchie songs…..You captured the lonesome sweetness of her voice and delivery."   — Laurie Lewis "Heavenly music sung with an ethereal voice."  — Michael Fleming, New West Music Recording Artist "She has the gift of telling a story through music with a voice as clear and fresh as a spring morning."                                   — Terri Anderson, Kentucky Music Hall of Fame and Museum [...]